How is My Life Working as Virtual Assistant

I started working as a VA after getting a training from a BPO company called Filipino-Canadian. My life as a virtual assistant is not that easy as all may think though I admit it has perks also. For more than three weeks, I was trained there as a telemarketer, online researcher and some data entry.  And then I found this site called oDesk, it was March 15, 2008 Sunday night. You can actually read my past post about how I found my first job in oDesk here.

At present time, it has been seven years from the time I had my first online job. Working as a virtual assistant before and right now has a big difference due to the increasing numbers of people who wants to work online. Before, you can actually ask for a higher hourly rate from clients but as of now, you need to lower your rate so to compete with the rates that other virtual assistants are offering.

Working online has been easy for me since I easily get clients with my skills and experiences. Most of the time, my target job postings are long-term durations since I aim to work full time. And since I am quite choosy with the type of job that I want, therefore I am looking for one that can be done any time of the day with a lot of number of hours limit each week  and most specifically has a good pay.

Most of my projects are lead generation, online research, social media management, data entry, some article writing and blogging, and a little of video editing. Some of these skills were acquired from my previous projects also. Some clients were eager to help me and gave me the opportunity to learn new skills.

As a mother, this type of job is essential to me since I can work from the comforts of my home. I can take care of the household chores and most especially take care of my family’s needs.  I can bring my work anywhere too as long as I have an internet connection and my laptop. The downside is you have to work graveyard since most of the clients are in different time zone

Leave a Reply

